Kapitan Borchardt is a iron Polish 3-masted schooner named after Karol Olgierd Borchardt (1905-1986), a Polish writer and captain of the Polish Merchant Marine. She’s the oldest sailing (and training) ship flying the Polish flag. She was launched in the Netherlands in 1918 at the J.J. Pattje & Zoon Waterhuizen shipyard, and christened as Nora, and initially used as an ocean-going cargo.
Due to numerous changes of ownership, she later bore the names Harlingen, Möwe, Vadder Gerrit and In Spé. In 1934, the ship's bow was destroyed in a collision on the Thames with a Dutch motor vessel : The Pinguin.
During the Second W.W. she was used by the Kriegsmarine as a training ship for the U-Boat school located in Gotenhafen. At the end of the war she was towed to Travemüde in 1945, and went back to Netherland in 1953, and later as a cargo sailship to Sweden.
Between 1983 and 1989 she underwent a general restoration to be converted into a cruising/training sailboat under the name Najaden. Equipped with 14 cabins, the schooner sails under Swedish flag and was based in Stockholm. During this period cruises are organized in the Baltic Sea1 from April to October. She carries a max. of 80 passengers per day and 24 on cruise.
On August 30, 2011, the Najaden left Nynashamn in Sweden, to join her new owner, the company Skłodowscy Yachting, under Polish flag. She was christened Kapitan Borchardt on October 8, 2011, in the city of Gdańsk, her new home port.
Photographed at Ardrossan Harbour.
Information courtesy of Ship Nostalgia.