Search This Blog

Wednesday, 30 June 2010

Maersk Maryland and Maine

Maersk Maryland and Maine seen berthed at the Great Harbour Greenock.

Tuesday, 29 June 2010

Maersk Beaumont


Having been laid up in Loch Striven for a year Maersk Beaumont prepares to leave the Clyde.

Monday, 28 June 2010

Scarborough



TT Scarborough berthed at BAE Scotstoun,in the background is HMS diamond.

Sunday, 27 June 2010

St Mungo




St Mungo hard at work keeping the Clyde clean,she is a popular site in this stretch of the Clyde that runs through the city centre

Saturday, 26 June 2010

Kames Castle

On the shore of Kames Bay near Port Bannatyne on the Island of Bute, the castle consists of a 14th Century tower, with a house built on it in the 18th Century.

Originally the seat of the Bannatyne family, Kames is one of the oldest continuously inhabited houses in Scotland.

Thursday, 24 June 2010

Sylvester




A small work boat working on the berth at the new transport museum in Glasgow.

Het Leven


"Tjalk" which is a flat bottom sailing boat with sideboards instead of a keel.
More of a coastal than deep sea vessel, this type of boat would have traded between Scotland and the Netherlands. Still authentic, with original cargo hatches,built 1912.

Tuesday, 22 June 2010

Crown Princess











Shoalway





The river at the Govan shipyard being dredged,this part of the river is pretty much dead these days but ,dredging usually takes place before a launch.

Monday, 21 June 2010

San Fernando


The Trinidad and Tobago patrol boat San Fernando in the shed at BAE Scotstoun.

Saturday, 19 June 2010

Sonatas





Sonatas competing in the UK Championships,the yachts are from Helensburgh sailing club.

Click HERE for more information on Sonata sailing.

Thursday, 17 June 2010

Euro Swan


Euro Swan Passing Greenock,a tanker with an ice breaking bow.

Wednesday, 16 June 2010

Kid Sister


Heading for the Gare Loch

Tuesday, 15 June 2010

SS Nizam built by William Denny and Brothers Dumbarton,launched 27 June 1873.
Owned by the Penisular and Oriental Steam Navigation company.

Saturday, 12 June 2010

Maersk Boston









Maersk Boston,after almost a year tied up with other Maersk ships in loch Striven she was removed from the raft to the tail of the bank were she will be readied for duties again.

Click HERE for more pictures of the lay up ships.