Search This Blog

Thursday, 29 January 2009

Oyster Catcher


An oyster catcher seen on the banks of the Holy Loch.

Wednesday, 28 January 2009

The Clyde at Bowling


Taken from Bowling looking up the Clyde,taken in the early fifties?
Can you name any of the ships in the picture?

Tuesday, 27 January 2009

Regis 2



A small tug which helped take barges to Glasgow during the construction of the new bridges,seen here at greenock.

Friday, 23 January 2009

Fort Austin A386











Fort Austin A386 supply ship,seen off the coast of Gourock degaussing.

Erskine Ferry



The Erskine ferry was established in 1777,connecting Erskine with Old Kilpatrick.
The ferry ceased operation in July 1971 when Princess Anne opened the Erskine bridge.

Thursday, 22 January 2009

Svitzer Mallaig



Svitzer Mallaig departing James Watt Dock.

Wednesday, 21 January 2009

SD Omagh




Seen in Victoria Dock Greenock on the 16 Jan 2009,she was transferring personnel from Fort George which was anchored in the bay.

Tuesday, 20 January 2009

Queen Mary

Launch of the Queen Mary from Clydebank on the 26 September 1934
A rather garish card ,a hand tint that looks fairly awful.

Monday, 19 January 2009

Ailsa Craig



Ailsa Craig from the hills above the village of Lendallfoot.

Sunday, 18 January 2009

SD NIMBLE











SD Nimble at Scotstoun to help HMS Daring down the Clyde, as she was officially handed over to the Royal Navy it was Military tugs who had the job of guiding her down the Clyde.

SD IMPETUS






SD Impetus at Scotstoun shipyard to help HMS Daring down the Clyde

Friday, 16 January 2009

HMS Daring



















HMS Daring leaves the shipyard at Scotstoun in Glasgow for the last time,she will head for her home port of Portsmouth.